American Atheists holds an annual National Convention at locations throughout the United States. Our national conventions bring together members of the atheist community from all over the nation and world to celebrate reason, rationality, and atheism. Past speakers include: Hugh Laurie, Ayaan Hirsi Ali, Professor Richard Dawkins, Christopher Hitchens, Chris Kluwe, Greta Christina, Matt Dillahunty, and many others.

Previous National Conventions have been held in Austin, Texas; New York City, New York; Denver, Colorado; Washington, DC; and Des Moines, Iowa. The American Atheists 2014 National Convention was held in Salt Lake City, Utah, and our 2015 National Convention was held in Memphis, Tennessee. In 2017, American Atheists celebrated the first total solar eclipse in the continental United States in decades by hosting our National Convention in North Charleston, SC. Our 2018 National Convention returned to its customary Easter Weekend date in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.