American Atheists celebrates activism by awarding scholarships to students who engage in atheist activism in their communities and schools.

What are the Student Activist Scholarships?

The Student Activist Scholarship program was founded by Life Members Barbara J. Baldock, Dr. Phillip Butler, Lillian B. Ramsden, Rice O’Dell, and Irving Yablon. American Atheists awards two $1,000 O’Hair Scholarships and four $500 President’s Scholarships to atheist students in the United States.¬†American Atheists is also proud to award two $500 Chinn Scholarships for LGBTQ Atheist Activism that recognize atheist activism in the area of LGBTQ equality.

Who can enter?

Scholarships are open to current college or vocational students and to high school students entering college in the upcoming year. Full-time graduate and law school students are also eligible. Applicants do not have to be U.S. citizens to be eligible but do have to attend U.S.-based institutions. Applicants for all awards must be atheists and must have a cumulative GPA of 2.5 or higher in academic subjects. Applicants of all races, ethnicities, genders, and sexual orientations are encouraged to apply.

Membership in American Atheists is not required to submit an application, but scholarship winners must be members to accept the awards. All applicants are offered a free one-year membership to American Atheists.

The application deadline for 2021 Student Activist Scholarships was June 15, 2021. To receive information about 2022 scholarships, sign up for American Atheists emails.

Who decides the winners?

The winners will be chosen by the leadership of American Atheists and/or the delegates they choose who are employees and/or officers of American Atheists.